Unpause Asia

Gaming News, Reviews and Pew Pews


Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga – What To Know Before Playing

LEGO has done the virtual gaming world proud with its series of games. Not all have ranked at the top of the charts but its unique and playful formula of remade worlds has definitely been a joy. Tomorrow on the 5th of April we’re getting one of the more anticipated games in the series LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga.

This has been billed as the ultimate Star Wars game (bold claim) and after so many excellent entries in the series, it’s undoubtedly going to be a lot of fun. If you’ve been looking forward to the game or vice versa know nothing about it but love the Star Wars series then buckle in. That’s a lot of information to get through, so strap yourself into your pod racer, grab your friendly football-shaped droid, and let’s get stuck into what you need to know about LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will release on the 5th of April 2022 on the PlayStation 4|5, Xbox One, Xbox Series S|X, Nintendo Switch, and PC – Steam


The Skywalker Saga Will Cover All Nine Star Wars Movies

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will be the first Lego Star Wars game since 2016’s The Force Awakens, and looks set to be the most ambitious addition to the series yet, covering all nine of the core Star Wars movies. In other words, you’ll be playing scenes from the original trilogy (Star Wars: A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi), the prequel trilogy (The Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith) and the sequel trilogy (The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi, The Rise of Skywalker).

Each episode of the film will feature five story missions, for a total of 45 core levels in the game. Players can use the galaxy map on their holoprojector to chart their course through the saga (there are a lot of games after all), unlocking planets to explore on their journey. It’s up to players whether they want to pursue the main storyline or to be enticed by the galaxy’s many side quests and puzzles. 


The Skywalker Saga Has A Huge Open World


You’re actively encouraged to explore in Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, with exploration rewarding players with Kyber Bricks which unlock new features and ability upgrades across the game’s various character classes, which include Jedi, Hero, Dark Side, Villain, Scavenger, Scoundrel, Bounty Hunter, Astromech Droid, and Protocol Droid.

There are plenty of hub worlds to explore before taking on the core missions, littered with side quests, collectables and secrets to unlock. Hubs will range from the desolate wastes of Tatooine to the forests of Endor and the dark heart of Exegol, where the Emperor holds court. It’s an incredibly ambitious undertaking then, collating all the major sights (and sites) of the near-complete Star Wars universe.

All of these locations will include random encounters too – you might be messing around before being ambushed by a Tie Fighter fleet. 


New Gameplay Will Be Featured

We’re expecting to be enjoying brand-new gameplay mechanics in Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga. The creators themselves have said that it will be a slight departure from the LEGO games that have come before it, promising deeper gameplay than the simplistic platforming and combat of previous LEGO games.

Whichever character class players choose, you’ll likely notice some improvements.  Combat has been sharpened up – lightsaber duels will focus on combo building, with a mixture of light, heavy and Force attacks wielded in tandem, while ranged shooting/blaster combat allows for more precision – as well as the ability to hide behind cover – and moves the gameplay to an over-the-shoulder viewpoint. It’ll still be family-friendly, but might not be quite as button-mashy as previous LEGO games.

You’ll be able to choose to play over 300 characters from Luke Skywalker, Rey, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Finn, Leia, Yoda, Boba Fett, Darth Maul to Jabba the Hutt, R2D2 and more.

There will also be a fair bit of flying around in vehicles in LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga alongside the usual ground-level fighting and play. Gameplay trailers show the player taking the controls of everything from a podracer to an X-Wing, a Snowspeeder to those horse things that turned up in Rise of Skywalker. 


Skywalker Saga Won’t Cover The Spin-Off Shows, Or Will They?

Some of the best Star Wars stories come from outside the main story, with the latest Mandalorian TV show being an absolute hit. To Rogue One, Bad Batch and the Solo movie. But it seems like it’s going to be too much Star Wars for this one LEGO game to handle. If however, you won’t get a Star Wars game without Grogu then you might just want to spring for the Star Wars: Skywalker Saga deluxe edition. Or get the subsequent DLC character packs.

The DLCs include 7 character packs in all with characters from The Mandalorian (season 1 and 2) such as Grogu, Greef Karga, Fennec Shand, IG-11, and Moff Gideon. As well as characters from the movie Solo and Rogue One from Young Han Solo, Lando Calrissian, Jyn Erso, Cassian Andor and more. There are also additional packs for Star Wars: The Bad Batch, a pack for troopers (Death Trooper, Incinerator etc) and the classic characters pack with all the classic heroes from Luke Skywalker to Darth Vader.

Additionally, it’s been confirmed that the voice of Boba Fett in Attack of the Clones belongs to Daniel Logan himself. It’s possible that this means Logan will be the voice of older Boba Fett throughout the game, though this hasn’t been outright confirmed just yet.


The Skywalker Saga Won’t Be Online

Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga will not feature an online co-op but instead will be limited to local support for two players.