Unpause Asia

Gaming News, Reviews and Pew Pews

Game Guides Games

Destiny 2: Beyond Light – What To Know Before Playing

Destiny 2: Beyond Light is the biggest expansion in Bungie’s space shooter. For several in-game seasons, the mysterious Darkness has been rising in the world of Destiny 2, challenging the Light of the Traveler and the Guardians. That rise to power will come to a head in Beyond Light when the army of Fallen warriors ally with the Darkness to wage war with the Guardians. The Guardians must go to Europa and investigate the situation. Stop the Fallen at all costs — even if it means using the Darkness yourself to do it.


Beyond Light – Story [NO SPOILERS]

“A new power is born out of the ancient Pyramid ship above Europa’s frozen frontier, and a dark empire has risen beneath. United under the banner of the Fallen Kell of Darkness, Eramis. Join your fellow Guardians and bring down the empire at any cost – even if it means wielding the Darkness itself.”

Beyond Light marks the return of the time-travelling ‘Exo Stranger’, a character not seen since Destiny 1. On the frozen tundra of Europa, the birthplace of the Exo race we’ll tangle with Eramis. A Fallen Kell intent on wielding the Darkness and taking revenge on the Traveler for abandoning her people long ago. The ‘Exo Stranger’ calls ‘Eris Morn’ and the ‘Drifter’ to the Jovian moon to investigate this new power. Explaining that she comes from a timeline where the Darkness won.

It looks as though there are plenty of secrets hiding under the snowy tundra of Jupiter’s moon. Europa was once the site of a human colony owned by the Clovis Bray Exoscience Corporation. The same company that created Warminds like Rasputin as well as the Exos. A race created by putting a human consciousness into a special exoskeleton. The Deep Stone Crypt, the birthplace of all Exos, is confirmed to be on Europa.


New Element – Stasis

Destiny 2 has always had 3 different element types for you to choose from Solar, Void and Arc. With the forces of “darkness” coming to the forefront in Beyond Light, Guardians will be granted access to a new energy type: Stasis. ‘Stasis’ utilises a form of cold Darkness energy with each class wielding it in a different way.

Titan Behemoth

Titans can use the Shivering Strike melee ability to send a foe careening backwards while nearby enemies become slowed. Meanwhile, the Glacial Quake Super allows Titans to slam a Stasis-covered fist into the Earth, doing heavy damage and freezing nearby targets solid.

Hunter Revenant

The Withering Blade melee ability allows Hunters to throw a Stasis shuriken that ricochets off the target into other enemies. Whille the Silence & Squall Super enables the use of dual Kama blades that are used to freeze an enemy in place and then shatter them, creating a Stasis storm that damages other enemies close by.

Warlock Shadebinder

Warlocks can use the Penumbral Blast melee ability to freeze an enemy in place instantly. The Winter’s Wrath Super, meanwhile, allows Warlocks to use a Stasis staff to freeze enemies with projectiles. The Warlock can then detonate the staff’s crystal, sending out a shockwave that shatters the frozen foes.


Also, unlike the traditional Light-based subclasses, each Stasis subclass can be tweaked through the use of Aspects and Fragments (see above).

Aspects are physical items in the world that can be found and then used to change how a class ability may behave. Fragments are also physical items that can be found and are used to add passive effects to Aspects, though they may also come with a drawback. For example, a Fragment may make health regenerate instantly when an Aspect’s effect triggers, but it might also slightly reduce the stats of your armour.